You Have Multiplied


$97.37.

That is the amount of change that I’ve been able to save over the last few years.  I began saving it when I was single.  I wanted to be a bride.  When I was engaged before, I didn’t have much money to spend on a wedding dress.  I found a used one online and purchased it for next to nothing.  The dress was beautiful, but it didn’t fit.  It was not the experience I wanted for my wedding dress when I really did get married, so I decided to start saving money before I even had a boyfriend.

That was a couple years ago.  I was embarrassed to tell anyone what the money was for.   It seemed frivolous to save for something like that, but my heart longed for something beautiful.  Saving my change was so small and insignificant.  I knew it wouldn’t amount to much.  The act of faith was the point though.  Every time I put money in the jar, I whispered a prayer that God would multiply it and make it into more than I ever could.

God did multiply it too.  In May I got engaged to my Boaz (see the book of Ruth).  I received some unexpected money right around that time.  I was able to purchase the dress of my dreams and it was significantly less than I had budgeted to spend.  I continued with my small coin collection though, knowing it would be useful at some point in the future.

Tonight I was talking to my fiance, Rick, about money.  Getting married is expensive and we are both in shock about how much it costs to have a wedding, set up a new home, and go on a honeymoon.  With two weeks until the wedding, I need to stop working so I can finalize all the wedding plans and celebrate Christmas.  Rick asked me if it was time to cash in my coin collection.  Stunned, my first thought was to tell him no.  I was saving that money!  But then I had to laugh.  I was saving that money for this!

As I gathered up my coins tonight, added up the totals, and put it all into a bag to take to the bank, it hit me hard.  God has answered my prayers.  Every whispered prayer that God would take my small contribution and multiply it has been answered.

I had small faith that I would actually get married.  In two weeks I will become a wife.

I had small faith that I would have the money I needed for the wedding dress of my dreams.  In two weeks I will wear a dress that takes my breath away and leaves me giggling like a little girl every time I put it on.

I had small faith that every bill I had would be paid, that I could continue to have my needs met even though I had lost my job.  In two weeks it will have been 18 months since I lost my salary and I have never had a bill go unpaid or a need unmet.  In fact, I’ve had more than I needed.

My God has provided for my needs.  What have I to fear? 

I waited patiently for the LORD;

he inclined to me and heard my cry.

He drew me up from the pit of destruction,

out of the miry bog,

and set my feet upon a rock,

making my steps secure.

He put a new song in my mouth,

a song of praise to our God.

Many will see and fear,

and put their trust in the LORD.

Blessed is the man who makes

the LORD his trust,

who does not turn to the proud,

to those who go astray after a lie!

            You have multiplied, O LORD my God,

your wondrous deeds and your thoughts toward us;

none can compare with you!

I will proclaim and tell of them,

yet they are more than can be told.

(Psalm 40:1-5 ESV)

17 Comments

Filed under Spiritual Life

17 responses to “You Have Multiplied

  1. Rhonda McKnight

    Awesome Kimberly…you are a great woman of faith…very happy for your dreams coming true in just a few weeks…thanks for sharing!

    • Thanks, Rhonda. I don’t know how great I am, but I do know that God is great! He took the very little faith I had and made it something beautiful and I am very thankful. I’m really looking forward to seeing you and Dan at the wedding.

  2. Sharon Wood Cochran

    That is a wonderful, amazing testimony to God’s provision. It greatly encouraged me. I’m am very happy for you and your fiance’, and I know God will bless you both in your life together!

  3. Anita

    Love your post Kim!!! Congratulations to you again!

  4. Beautiful thoughts…beautiful post…beautiful person. Thanks for the reminder that faith as a mustard seed counts!

  5. Stefanie

    Love it! Makes me want to start my own coin collection! 😉

  6. Colleen

    The Lord is faithful, and He delights in lavishing His love upon those who fear Him. I’m so happy for you, and I pray that all those whispered prayers you continue to pray will be answered in due time. May God bless you and Rick and continue to multiply His love in your home for years to come!

  7. Oh Kimberly, what a beautiful post! What joy it is to know that your dreams have come to fruition. God IS so very good to His children. Have a blessed wedding day and an ever increasingly blessed union.

  8. Jenn Sharpe

    Awesome post Kimberly! I am so glad you were able to laugh and use the money as Rick suggested. I am sooooo excited and can’t believe it is just 2 weeks away! Can’t wait!!!!
    Love ya,
    Jenn

Leave a Reply

