The Countdown


December 2, 2011.  The date isn’t that signficant.  But it’s FRIDAY, December 2, 2011.  And that means in just FOUR weeks, 28 days, I will become a married woman.  My heart races a bit just writing that.

This morning I ordered flowers that I’ll carry down the aisle, the only time in my life when it will be appropriate to carry around a beautiful bouquet of flowers.  There are final plans to be made, and so I spent several hours following that going over my schedule, sending emails, making phone calls, and trying to put the pieces of the puzzle together, wondering what I’m forgetting.  How much more money will I need?  How many people will be at this event, that event, and THE event?  When am I going to find time to hang out with my cherished friends in the final weeks of my time in Nashville?

My head is swirling with problems to solve, plans to finalize, and concerns about how it will all get done.  But earlier this week I slipped into my wedding gown and got the last few pins to make the dress fit perfectly.  With that gown on, all the difficulties of planning a huge, life-altering event faded away.  For those few moments, I remembered why I am doing all this stuff.  We are getting married.  We are each putting our best foot forward, hoping for a day that sparkles and crackles with life and joy, to stand before God and our family and friends and make a covenant to be one.  And the two shall become one.

IN FOUR WEEKS!

And then, the honeymoon…

5 Comments

Filed under Love, Spiritual Life

5 responses to “The Countdown

  1. Joann Tallman

    Oh Kimberly you are such a precious woman of God – I am excited for you and look forward to your “blogs” after the honeymoon. My prayers for a very joyfilled wedding day and honeymoon are for you. God bless you. Joann Tallman

  2. Jenn Sharpe

    So fun! I love the line, “I remembered why I am doing all this stuff…(to) make a covenant to be one. And the two shall become one.” Stephen and I are preparing to leave for our 10 Year Wedding Anniversary getway to MEXICO this Monday! I keep accidentally calling it our honeymoon, but in fact I plan to make it as close to that as possible. 10 years IS something to celebrate! Love you! Jenn

Leave a Reply

