Beauty for Ashes…


“…He gives beauty for ashes, the oil of joy for mourning, the garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness; that they may be called trees of righteousness, the planting of the LORD, that He may be glorified.”  -Isaiah 61:3

I’m so happy to let you all know I’m getting married!  After years of waiting, hoping, praying, and waiting some more, God has blessed me with one of the best men I’ve ever known.

Rick and I lived in the same town when I was in elementary school; we knew one another, but obviously had no idea what God had in store for us.   Our families have remained close over the years, but it wasn’t until he sent me a little message on Facebook (“Hey!  Remember me?”), that we really got to know one another.

When Rick first contacted me, I didn’t think much about it.  I’m a city-girl and he is a farmer in rural midwest.  I knew he couldn’t leave his farm and I couldn’t imagine moving back there.  But as we began to communicate, I found I couldn’t dismiss him so easily.  Not only is he a farmer, but he’s also a missionary, spending his free time every year in Guatemala doing missions work.  I quickly realized that he is honest, caring, kind, and witty.  He is also a man who knows who he is.  He doesn’t struggle to figure out what he’s going to do with his life.  He already does what he loves.  As we got to know each other, it became apparent very quickly that this was more than a friendship.

As I prayed and asked God if He really might want me to move to the rural midwest, the soft answer that came stunned me.  “You were willing to move to Haiti, but you can’t live on a farm?”  I quickly adjusted my attitude.

Ten months after that first Facebook message, Rick called me late on a Thursday night to ask me if I still needed a date for a friend’s party the next night.  Much to my surprise, he was in Nashville the next afternoon.  We spent Saturday around Nashville, ending with a romantic dinner and a horse-drawn carriage ride through the city.  Rick had been saying the sweetest things to me all weekend and he didn’t stop when we got in the carriage.  When he asked me to marry him, I didn’t have to think for a second.  I just said “Yes!”  Then he gave me a beautiful diamond ring.

We spent that evening basking in the amazement that in a few months we’ll be husband and wife.  Even though it was late, we called a few people to share the news.  The next morning began a whirlwind of communication, letting those closest to us know of our engagement, showing off the ring, and trying to wrap our minds around the fact that we had both finally found “the one.”

As I’ve considered all this engagement means for my life, one thing is very clear to me:  God has blessed me.  Rick is a wonderful man and I feel certain that our life together will be good.  We want the same things out of life – a peaceful home, children, and God at the center of it all.  I have never felt so comfortable, so blessed, and so loved in my entire life.  When I look at Rick, I see a man who truly tries to be like Christ.  I am smitten.  We aren’t perfect, we don’t always agree on everything, but we are perfect for each other.  I’m fast and he’s slow.  I’m independent and he’s aware of his need for others.  He loves tractors and I love writing.  He’s private and I’m, well, you know…

We don’t have all the details set yet, but I can say that we plan to marry in Nashville and we don’t want to be engaged any longer than necessary.  We’re looking at all our date options and pulling together the pieces so we can set a date.  It’s amazing how much work goes into just setting a date!  After we’re married, I plan to move to his home.  Yes, the city girl is looking forward to becoming a farmer’s wife.

There are so many good things I could share about how God has shown me His goodness every step of the way, but in closing I will share one of my favorite details.  As I’ve written before, I have prayed for wisdom all my life.  James 1:5 says, “If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all liberally and without reproach, and it will be given to him.”  Folks, my new last name will soon be WYSE.

24 Comments

Filed under Spiritual Life

24 responses to “Beauty for Ashes…

  1. Tammy

    love the story … and the thing that hit me was the last line. that idea had not crossed my mind yet. What a deal!

    congrats and welcome to the family!

    • Teresa Short

      Thanks for sharing your story, Kim. I’m very happy for you – really!!

      And Tammy……… wasn’t she already ‘part of the family?’ ha!! You get her double

  2. Keith Merillat

    Kimberly –
    I’m so excited for you!!! and can’t wait for you to move back here. We’ll have to catch up again over coffee. Have fun with all the planning!!!!

  3. Angela Adams

    What a beautiful story! I’m so happy for you Girl! :o) God has really blessed you! LOL That’s great about your future last name. :o) You sure are wise the future Mrs. Wyse. :o) I’m so excited for you!!

  4. Jim

    Congrats to my niece, soon to be sister in law 🙂 These titles of family are always a mind bender for me … you will remain Kim bop ba de bop ba de bam boo 🙂

    • Perhaps I should explain the relationship so those who read this won’t freak out… My mom’s younger brother (Jim) married Rick’s older sister (Tammy). Rick and I are no blood relation to each other, but his sister and brother-in-law have always been my aunt and uncle. When we marry, my first cousins will become my nieces and nephews. Ha! We’re bending the family tree a little, but not breaking any rules.

  5. Melissa falk

    Kimberly, this is such great news! How exciting! Listen, you may be becoming wyse- but as long as i’ve known you, you have already been wise, with a fear of the lord that is both encouraging and challenging in its power. Now God is making you wyser still! A dear friend has a similarly complicated family and their favorite line is, ‘some people have a family tree….we have a family wreath!’ Congrats and god bless you as you plan the details!

  6. What a fun, romantic story, and what an amazing turn of events. I remember you over 30 yrs. ago here…and now you will be back here again! You will appreciate the ‘goodness’ of down-to-earth, rural life and people. I’m also sure that God will make a place for you and your gifts! Congratulations to you both!!

  7. Colleen

    Kimberly, I am so very happy for you. I keep hearing the theme song from “Green Acres” running through my head and am hoping you don’t have to climb a pole to talk on the telephone! LOL! Seriously, I pray you and Rick will be very happy together and that God will bless your marriage so you can leave a legacy for future generations.

    • You cracked my mom up, Colleen. I was just explaining to her at lunch that it’s not like I’m moving out to Siberia! They have Starbucks, all the major restaurants, and even a mall close by (30 minutes away). I’m just not going to be able to choose from hundreds of restaurants within a five-mile radius of our home. There may be cows next door. And the smell of fertilizer floating through the air may assult my nostrils from time to time… But just think of the children running free through the fields! 🙂

      • Colleen

        I grew up in the country, and while I really enjoy the conveniences of the city, I am so glad to have spent my childhood in the country. Having the country experience while being married to the love of your life will be something to cherish!

      • I’m counting on it! 🙂

  8. Leslie

    SWEET!!!!!!!! I am so excited for you both. You definitely are perfect for each other with the perfect name for you… Wyse! Love you!

  9. Amy C.

    Congratulations, Kimberly–future Mrs. WYSE! What a wonderful story & such awesome news! Good luck to you & Rick in the years to come!

  10. Jenn Sharpe

    Kimberly,
    Mrs. Wyse sounds like a wholesome teacher’s name! But it will be Rev. Mrs. Wyse!!!! Oh, I love reading your story, your life is an epistle to be read and it is such a page-turning BLESSING! I love you sweet friend! Congrats Rick, as you know you have found a treasure…a true wealth in this woman of God. God shared with me a while ago that “a friend would be leaving” and knowing Kimberly’s circumstance (YOU!), I have slowly been letting her go in my heart. But I surely plan on some visits and attending several baby showers!!!! Sadie is also very interested in “riding a horse at Mr. Rick’s” and she will be thrilled to see a real live Princess on your wedding day!!!
    Love,
    Jenn

Leave a Reply

