December 18, 2010


Caught up in the Christmas festivities, I neglected to post this writing.  Rereading it today, I felt it was appropriate to post it anyway.  I hope you enjoy it.  If you do, please hit the “like” button and take a moment to post a comment.  🙂 

Me, Rick, and his great-nephew enjoying the frozen pond

I wrote a post a while back entitled, A Good Day.  Today has been another good day for me and I’ve been happily singing goofy Christmas songs while I wrap those final gifts and think about chestnuts roasting on an open fire, snowball fights, eggnog, and (finally) having my love to keep me warm.  Then, out of nowhere, I found myself wondering what bad thing is going to happen to shatter this lovely moment in time.  In the last year, I’ve had moments of breath-stealing heartache, rejection, disappointment, and failure.  Is it possible that today I could be so very delighted and full of anticipation?

When will this magical bubble of bliss be rudely popped and send me crashing to the ground?  Nothing this good ever seems to last for too long.  So for a moment I sort of gritted my teeth, mentally trying to prepare myself for the crash. 

My own reaction disturbed me.  I began wondering what the proper response is to moments in our lives when the sun is shining on us and the white snow glistens and sparkles and we are warm and healthy and happy.  Life can’t always be this sweet, but TODAY it is.  Even if it’s only this very moment that’s so sweet, we do have this moment. 

It is simply a fact that life comes with problems and there’s no doubt that eventually I’ll have to come down off this (natural) high.  But for today, for this moment, I am going to enjoy the bliss.  I’m going to soak it up, call the day GOOD, and be thankful.  I’m going to raise my hands high in praise and make sure God knows just how thankful I am to feel Him smiling down and rejoicing with me. 

Anyway, I’ve heard that if a person is relaxed when they crash or fall, they’re less likely to get hurt because their muscles aren’t tensed up.  My plan is to relax and savor every moment of this bliss.  Let tomorrow’s problems take care of themselves.  Sure, when we relax into happiness and joy, we almost simultaneous open ourselves up to terrible pain and disappointment.  To love deeply is to risk equally deep hurt.  And yet, I am willing to take the risk, soak up the joy of it, and hope the pain stays away a little while longer.  Today is a GOOD day.

9 Comments

Filed under Spiritual Life

9 responses to “December 18, 2010

  1. Lori

    Yep, I remember having the extact same distinct feeling something was going to go horrible wrong. I had just rented that duplex in sylvan park (the one you helped me find). I remember standing out on the deck looking out at the back and telling Josh that something is going to happen. It just seemed all too perfect. Finally, I had found my love who was going to be a doctor for goodness sakes. I was working a great job, going to a great church, and living in a great city in a great area of the city. Within a few weeks it hit the fan and then continued to hit the fan in small bits over the next I don’t know….six years. That feeling was so real and I just shrugged it off as me being negative. Maybe, I just knew. Woman are intuitive you know.

  2. Pedro

    I think we all have a tendency to anticipate that something wrong is going to happen or is just around the corner. Perhaps it’s the Spirit warning us, but most likely this feeling does not come from God. Worry does not come from God. This could be an attempt by the evil one to steal this wonderful moment. Sometimes thinking about these things may cause a self-fulfilling prophecy or make us thing that something is worse than it really is (glass half full).

    Thanks for posting and letting us comment Kimberly. May God continue to bless you and your loved ones with wonderful times. Whatever the difficulties that may come, I pray that they serve to make you stronger.

  3. Tammy

    this is how your uncle Jim thinks sometimes. he says it is realistic. I say he is pessimistic. ha!

    you know how we talk about those who see the glass half full and others see it as half empty? well, i heard a a joke recently, about a guy who saw it neither way. instead he asked, “who stole half of my water?!?!?” 😉

  4. Zoraida

    Great Post!
    Whenever worry tries to steal a great moment, hour, day..I send up a quick prayer to Thank the Lord for my joy and to protect and prepare me for life’s inevitable painful events. Then I banish all “bad” thoughts and languish in the good. They are the moments to remember afterall!

  5. I just read Psalm 112:7-8, and think it applies so well to this post and even the comments, which I thank you all for!
    He (the righteous man/woman) is not afraid of bad news;
    his heart is firm, trusting in the Lord.
    His heart is steady; he will not be afraid…

    My goal is that even though I know things can’t be perfect and happy all the time, I won’t FEAR the hard times that inevitably come. I long for the day that my heart is firm, trusting in the Lord, so that I can look difficulties in the face and know that God will take care of everything. Sometimes I can, but then there are the other times… Lord, help us to trust in You!

Leave a Reply

