To Believe


I’m wondering lately what might happen if we dare to believe – to really, truly believe that God will do what He promises and to trust Him through even the most challenging circumstances when it seems that you might be nothing more than a failure – or possibly even insane.  What might happen if we dare to believe, if we dare to tell others what we believe for, and ask them to believe with us?  Is it possible that if we hold on to that belief even through the fear that God will miraculously intervene on our behalf and rescue us?  

Noah looked like a fool to those around him.  He built an ark in a time when no one had ever seen rain.  He built an ark that took him hundreds of years to build, following God’s specific instructions, and loaded animals on to it.  Then the door closed and he waited.  Only then did God send the rain.  

Nancy Alcorn, who started Mercy Ministries, gave away the first $15,000 donated to her ministry.  She felt God told her to do it.  She felt God told her that in giving, her ministry would be blessed.  A short time later she received $150,000.  God has continued to bless her ministry as she has repeatedly been challenged to trust Him, has believed and been faithful, and is now reaping great rewards.  Precious girl’s lives change, she is the head of a well-known and respected international ministry, and is a successful author and speaker.  

During Jesus’ three years of ministry, He did miraculous things every day.  Through Him the sick were healed instantly, the dead came back to life, demons were cast out, mental illness was healed, money appeared in a fish’s mouth, and thousands were fed with five loaves of bread and two fish.  Before all these miracles were recorded, Jesus went into the wilderness where He fasted for 40 days and was tempted by Satan.  His ministry began after He had endured the mighty struggle.  

How many of us are willing to endure the mighty struggle?  How many of us are so determined to be found faithful that we wait through our fear and confusion, we wait through our loneliness, hunger, and pain?  Jesus was hungry and alone for 40 days.  Nancy gave away the money she desperately needed to start the ministry she felt called to do.  Noah faced hundreds of years of ridicule and misunderstanding.  What are we willing to endure? 

There’s a moment when we are willing to wait it out and endure the hardship  – a moment when the pain becomes worth it.  And in the days that follow that moment, it becomes more and more clear that it was worth it. 

Last week I lost my job.  I have felt change coming for a while now, but thought it would be something miraculous and wonderful.  I thought God would open the windows of heaven and bless me with some amazing thing I couldn’t see yet.  I didn’t think part of my journey would include the fear, disappointment, and hurt of getting laid off.  But does the financial difficulty of my church and need to downsize the staff by 25% sway my belief that God has something good for me ahead?  Am I really willing to endure the mighty struggle to see the truth of God’s plan for my life?  This moment is my moment. 

I choose to believe.

3 Comments

Filed under Spiritual Life

3 responses to “To Believe

  1. Amy

    I will be praying for you Kim. Both Conrad and myself have been laid off twice. It is scary, disappointing, and nerve wracking. But I can honestly say in all four of those instances, our lives ended up changing for the better. I am still amazed at the work that God does. We may not always understand His ways, but He does do best. Keep me posted on how things go!

  2. Audrey Bolek

    Kimberly,
    Thank you again for sharing! I saw that you had posted a blog and started to read it, but got sidetracked and then wanted to read my One Year Bible reading for the day before getting back to your blog. I don’t know if you’re reading that with our church family, but the story of Hannah with Samuel is another example of someone believing. After Hannah had talked to Eli it says in I Sam. 1:17, 18:
    “Then Eli said, Go in peace, and may the God of Israel grant your petition which you have asked of Him.
    18 Hannah said, Let your handmaid find grace in your sight. So [she]went her way and ate, her countenance no longer sad.”
    I wrote in the margin – She believed

    We’ve been conditioned to say, “I’m sorry about the lose of your job.” But I just can’t say that. I believe our Father’s hand is in it and He’s got another assignment for you. You are His daughter, He loves you so much, He has your best interest in mind, He knows what you have need of, and He is our great Provider!

    I’ve been working on memorizing this scripture lately for myself, maybe it will speak to you too. I’ve written it down, meditated on it, say it often through out the day…
    “There is no fear in love [dread does not exist], for full-grown (complete, perfect) love turns fear out of doors and expels every trace of terror! For fear brings with it the thought of punishment, and [so] he who is afraid has not reached the full maturity of love [is not yet grown into love’s complete perfection).” I John 4:18

    You asked a question in the begining of your blog – What might happen if we dare to believe, if we dare to tell others what we believe for, and them to believe with us? I think there is great strength in our faith, much more than we know and understand. I want to grow in my faith. Thank you for sharing, and choosing to believe that – this moment is your moment! I will believe with you!

    Much love & blessings,
    Audrey

  3. Praizeraifeda

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian

Leave a Reply

