I’ve Got the Joy, Joy, Joy, Joy Down in My Heart


It’s been hard to know what to post recently.  Some of the things I’ve been going through don’t seem like things that need to be blasted on the internet for all to see…  Some things are deeply personal and too precious for publication. 

I hope the look on my face says it all.  I am happy.  I am full of peace.  God is good and He is blessing me in some wonderful ways. 

I looked at some pictures on Facebook tonight of a high school classmate.  She is beautiful; was a beauty queen many times over.  She married a handsome, successful man and they have lovely children.  It appears that they have everything anyone could want.  But the look in her eyes is far from happy.  She is smiling, she is wearing clothes that flatter her surgically enhanced figure, but there is not one speck of joy in her vacant eyes.  It made me sad. 

I wish I knew how to share this joy I have found with everyone.

I have written this before, but I will do it again.  This joy is only found in a deep, personal relationship with Jesus Christ.  We can have that relationship by getting to know Him through His Word:  Scripture, The Bible.  If you don’t like to read, listen to an audio-version of it.  Fill yourself up with God’s Word, spend time in prayer, talk about what you’ve read with others, think about it, write about it, study it.  Get involved in a Bible study with other believers, find a good church you enjoy going to and get involved, find creative ways to express your love for the Lord – but more than all of those things, learn His Word.  There is no substitute.  Spending time with God is the only way to have an intimate relationship with Him. 

I know it sounds boring, tedious, and time-consuming.  We don’t want to be dorks who can’t talk about anything else and start wearing our pants really high on our waists.  I get it.  I felt that way myself in spite of the fact that I was living my life in service to Him as a committed Christian.  I prayed and asked God to give me a love for His Word, and amazingly He did it.  Everything has changed now.   I’m even wearing my pants really high on my waist.  (So that’s not true, but you all let me know if I start looking like a dork, okay?)

Loving God isn’t easy because it takes work, just like being in human relationships takes work.  But It is worth it.  I promise.  Pick up a One-Year Bible and join along with me.  If you decide to give it a try, I’d love to hear from you. 

Jesus saves and He makes all things new.

*Photographer:  Leslie Coelho

8 Comments

Filed under Spiritual Life

8 responses to “I’ve Got the Joy, Joy, Joy, Joy Down in My Heart

  1. Audrey Bolek

    Kimberly,
    I totally agree!!! This is my 5th year to read through my Bible! It’s fresh & new every day. Through His Word, I’ve seen His love for me in such a powerful way! I’m renewing my mind and learning more about my Father in such exciting ways. Because I’m seeing how much He loves me, it makes me want to love Him more. It makes following His ways easier, because I WANT to please Him and know Him more intimately! Thanks for the encouragement of your post! Our Father is AWESOME!!!

  2. Kris Jensen

    A calming place, a quiet place, a place to hear a challenge to get up and move, …when I take up the Word of God with the intent to listen, I enter a holy space, a real place, where God speaks. Simple , but profoundly amazing that the Great God of the Universe makes a place for me. I loved your words, joy, joy, joy is the result of being in that place with God, with Jesus.

    • Thank you, Kris, for reading and commenting. I think “with the intent to listen” is a really important thing to pay attention to. Reading alone is not enough. We must listen, hear what God is saying through His word, and respond. In that place of knowing God’s character and obeying His voice there is a peace that is beyond description. And such complete joy that nothing can hide it…

  3. Kimberly,

    These wonderful things going on inside of you are reflected 100 times over in these beautiful new photos. You look so radiant and alive. You are practically oozing joy and contentment.

    Can’t hide it under a bushel, no!

    Be blessed,

    Tanya

    • Thank you so much, Tanya. I think that’s one of the nicest compliments I’ve ever received. I just spent a little time with your radiant daughter and she brought a huge smile to my face. What a joy!

  4. Love you, that’s all! 🙂

Leave a Reply

