Strength of Soul


Psalm 138

1 I give you thanks, O Lord, with my whole heart;
before the gods I sing your praise;
2 I bow down toward your holy temple
and give thanks to your name for your steadfast love and your faithfulness,
for you have exalted above all things
your name and your word. 
On the day I called, you answered me;
my strength of soul you increased.

4 All the kings of the earth shall give you thanks, O Lord,
for they have heard the words of your mouth,
and they shall sing of the ways of the Lord,
for great is the glory of the Lord.
For though the Lord is high, he regards the lowly,
but the haughty he knows from afar.

7 Though I walk in the midst of trouble,
you preserve my life;
you stretch out your hand against the wrath of my enemies,
and your right hand delivers me.
The Lord will fulfill his purpose for me;
your steadfast love, O Lord, endures forever.
Do not forsake the work of your hands.

I was thinking about this chapter this morning because I like that line in verse 3 so much.  I wanted to share with you all what I wrote:

“My strength of soul increased.” – I think that’s what happens when we make it through difficult times.  The strength of our soul increases and we become people who understand what is and is not important.  The things that disturb and shake us now become tiny blips on the radar when we understand what is truly important in life.  It’s important to have that strength increase when responsibilities increase.  If I am responsible for a ministry, a family, a home, and friendships, I need to have increased strength in my soul or I’ll never make it.  I can barely make it now without the home and family.  If the strength of my soul does not increase, how will I also handle those things?  So perhaps God allows difficult circumstances and storms to rage around us at times so that the strength of our soul increases.  After some of the particularly difficult things I’ve been through, the strength of my soul increased and I am now better prepared for the times that may happen again.  It won’t rattle me like it did. I’ll be prepared and handle it with a greater measure of calm and certainty.  The strength of my soul increased.

The strength of my soul HAD to increase so that (verse 8 ) the Lord could fulfill His purpose for me.  And it was His steadfast love that allowed it, even though it was painful and I didn’t understand.  I am the work of His hands and at times that means I will face difficult circumstances and storms.  One day I am going to have a very strong soul!!!

I believe God is strengthening all of our souls so that He can fulfill His purposes for our lives.  If we can hang on through the trials and keep our eyes focused on Him, we can make it.  And what a gift He has given us of close friends and Christian families who stand beside us in the storms!  I am so grateful.

11 Comments

Filed under Spiritual Life

11 responses to “Strength of Soul

  1. Jenn

    Now that I see what God is calling me to do, this is such an encouragment to my soul; “my strength of soul you increased” and this word is a promise; “The Lord WILL fulfill his purpose for me;” that I needed to hear! Thank you for ministering to me today!!!!
    Blessings,
    Jenn

  2. Jim

    and the rain falls on everyone the same … maybe storms just are life and not a spiritual thing to be endured but just life that is both good and bad for every living person …

    • kimberlywenger

      Uncle Jim, I agree that the rain falls on everyone the same. Some bad things that happen are just life and it’s really not about us. Even if we believe every storm is just life happening and there’s no spiritual implication, we can still choose to learn and grow from what happens (allowing our soul to be strengthened). And when we choose to learn and grow, the importance of problems that come up can seem less and less. But I believe some things do have a spiritual implication and that God allows them to teach us things and prepare us for the future.

      • Jim

        I was never good at which storms were life, which ones were attacks from the devil, which ones were allowed by god, which ones needed me to pray and fast to break their power, which ones created an opportunity for growth, which ones were my fault due to some faith failure, which ones were which and then how do I pray correctly in any given storm … I got tired of the mental gymnastics and figured it was not worth it for me to spend any more energy if god could not be any more clear to me … I gave all I could give for 40 years … I’ll tell you this though … since I have left the church inc. I am a much happier to just live life and enjoy the scenery

      • kimberlywenger

        That sounds like a lot of work! No wonder you’re relieved. I don’t worry too much about the devil. If he’s after me, it’s God’s job to handle him. If it’s my own fault, I feel convicted and know it, so that one doesn’t seem too hard to me. It’s not my job to manipulate difficult situations; just to trust God to get me through them. I’m trying to relax and enjoy the scenery too – which is exactly what I think God wants us to do. It sure does encourage me to know that there might be something good coming of the crap though.

  3. Jim

    yes there might be some good coming and we always are hopeful for that … sometimes it goes that way … those are the hopes that get us all through … it is just still as clear as mud a lot of times in what i have seen attributed to god or the devil or my fault … and to sail on without having figured it out after 40 years was very frustrating to tell others that “Hey I have no real clue but trust god anyway” was something I could no longer espouse in good conscience … and when I preached that I really did not know for sure what was up, the response was hummm … “I think I will go to a church that has more solid answers than you are able to give me” … and I understood their desire for answers and that being too honest from the pulpit meant I no longer belonged … the simple one liners no longer worked for me like “Just have faith” or like the old hymn “Farther Along we’ll understand why, so cheer up my brother and live in the sunshine … ” or the old “well it’s all a mystery and you can ask your questions to god when you get to heaven” … My questions may have rattled too many people the wrong way I guess … No one really knows for sure about anything … but I was told I should have it figured out better than I do by now … proof-texting scriptures were quoted by others and by me but I found they were hollow sounding to anyone going through real life crisis … what worked best was a listening ear and friendship which one did not need to be a pastor to provide …

  4. ginger gentry

    wow, i was looking for my girlfriends blog under the same name as yours. i too am encouraged, I also am a pastor’s wife who has been stormed on by church and wrong choices my husband had made. I know the undescribable grace of God as He has developed my marriage and ministry into something far more effective thru my storms then the years serving the church.
    you go girl, speak the truth that sets us free! ginger

  5. There’s good info here. I did a search on the topic and found most people will agree with your blog. Keep up the good work mate!

  6. kempozone

    Im sure many of you are like me and one of the first things you do in the morning is head here and check out the new post. Along with seeing the new posts, I’m also always checking out the blog roll rss feed and watching them grow, or shrink sometimes. In one of my past …but all in all excellent site. Keep it up!

  7. HenleyL

    Hey, I really enjoy your blog. I have a blog too in a totally unrelated field but I like to check in here on a regular basis, just to see what’s going on and it’s always interesting to say the least. It’s always entertaining what people have to say.

  8. Pingback: Sex Sells? « Kimberly Wenger’s Blog

Leave a Reply

