Vacation


Robertson Hall

 

I went on vacation this week (sort of).  As an alumnus of Regent University School of Divinity I am eligible to take up to four masters-level classes for $100 each.  It’s a little complicated, but basically I can take classes I wasn’t able to take before I graduated at a drastically reduced rate.  (A regular class right now costs each student $1575!)  Since $100 for an entire course is significantly cheaper than most weekend ministry conferences and I’d get to go back to one of my favorite places on earth, I decided to take them up on the offer.  I signed up for a class called “Models of Biblical Discipleship” which is being taught by one of my favorite professors.  I worked as Dr. Chandler’s graduate assistant and took several classes with her.  She has been instrumental in forming my thoughts and plans regarding ministry.  She is a wonderful, godly woman who I cannot say enough about.   

Dr. Diane Chandler

 

I needed to go to Virginia Beach for a weekend to take this class.  It’s an eight-week course, but the majority of it is done online with the exception of the 2 ½ days in class.  I looked into driving the fourteen hours it would take and crashing on a friend’s couch, but that did not seem like the ideal way to set myself up for learning.  Let’s see…  sit in a car for 14 hours, sleep on someone’s cramped couch, then sit in class for 8 hours a day before you get back in the car and sit for another 14 hours.  I don’t think so!   

So I decided to do the “grown up” thing – I booked a flight, got a hotel room, and rented a car.  I found the best deals I could on all of this stuff and found creative ways to pay for it.  I also decided if I was going to be at the beach for a few days, I’d extend the trip a little longer so I could actually enjoy the beach.  I haven’t been on a vacation that didn’t include driving home to South Carolina in six years, so I figured it was time.  Then it crossed my mind that this trip might not be so fun by myself…  I’d booked a hotel right on the beach and it would sit empty most of the time with no one to enjoy it.  So, I mentioned it to a couple friends who I thought would probably be able to go with me and suggested they book their own flights and join me.  Amazingly, they both agreed and without a whole lot of thought or planning, we were off to the beach.  

View from our hotel room

 

After sitting in class for the last 2 ½ days, I’m ready to do something fun and spend the next 1 ½ days enjoying the beach.  Of course, it’s raining, but I’m still on vacation!  I’m planning to visit the church I attended while I was here and take each moment as it comes.  I also got to reconnect with some old friends.   

My sweet friend, Janna, the first person I met at Regent.

 

With friends in the Student Center.

 

As for what I learned this weekend, it was all about how to build relationships with people and nurture them in their relationship with Christ.  It’s a beautiful concept and I’m looking forward to implementing it in a more intentional way in the future.

1 Comment

Filed under Just Goofing Around

One response to “Vacation

  1. Very Good.. yes, friends are wonderul. I happen to know the two you are referring to and i agree with you they are pretty special. I am proud of you that you have such a great education and that you are continuing to broaden your horizons. God will truly use you in a mighty way as you continue to live for Him. Have a great vacation and hopefully the sun will shine and the tan will even out! Blessings!Linda

Leave a Reply

