Life Has Snuck Up on Me…


Life has snuck up on me recently and prevented me from writing,  As the church’s Community Groups Minister, I was asked to launch small groups church-wide and given very little time to do it.  I also planned a Ministry Fair and a women’s event.  Oh yeah, and I had my regular daily work to do as well. 

The Ministry Fair is over.  The women’s event is this Saturday and I’m just tying up a few loose ends with that now.  And God gave me the grace and energy to write the curriculum, recruit leaders, train them, and get 20 new groups started for the church’s Community Group Ministry – in about a month.  (Thank you to all the wonderful friends who helped me.)

So why am I writing this and not some fun, interesting story?  Because tomorrow I leave for Virignia Beach to take a class at Regent University School of Divinity.  I graduated from there a few years back, but I didn’t get to take all the classes I wanted to take.  They have a great alumni program for continuing education, so I decided it was time to take another class.  This class is called Models of Biblical Discipleship and it’s all about effective ways to disciple people.  While I was at Regent, I worked as the graduate assistant for the professor who is teaching the class.  I’m so happy to be able to take another class from her. 

I’ll go to Virginia Beach tomorrow and will be in class Thursday, Friday, and Saturday.  The rest of the semester the class will be online.  I feel a little nuts trying to take this on right now, but I’m also excited about it.  I’m also making a mini-vacation out of it, staying a couple days after the class to enjoy the beach.  Hopefully I’ll get some sunshine! 

Before you get too worried about me, I want to acknowledge the amazing friends that God’s given me.  They have been wonderful during this time.  They’ve listened to my ideas and given me great feedback, brought me meals, researched, edited, and made sure that I keep working out and taking time to laugh.  Even in all this craziness, I made time to get a sunburn because I was having such a good time talking to friends on the patio of Starbucks that 3 hours passed and I have a lovely farmer’s tan and peely arms to show for it.  I am greatly blessed.  (By the friends, that is – not the peely arms…)

I’m hoping to return to actively writing very soon.  Now I’m off to pack!

1 Comment

Filed under Spiritual Life

One response to “Life Has Snuck Up on Me…

  1. Have fun. I look forward to your return to blogging. 🙂

Leave a Reply

