Humor


When I was a kid, we used to sit down at the table and wait for Dad to pray for the food.  But semi-regularly, he wouldn’t pray.  He’d hold up his pointer finger and that was a sign to all of us to put our fingers up too.  The last one with their finger up had to pray.    

It always seemed like a kind of weird ritual to me, but I put my finger up with everyone else in the race to not be last.  But we were a Christian family, Dad was a pastor, and we were taught to pray without ceasing.  Why then did we race to see who “had” to pray?     

I don’t know that it was so much about who “had” to pray.  None of us really minded praying for dinner.  It was more about being silly and having a little fun.  We’re all pretty competitive in my family.  We all wanted to win, even if the prize was not having to pray for dinner that night.    

 

  

  

Family Ski Trip, 2004. Adam's face had met the snow.

 

 Sometimes I think as Christians that we get too serious about everything.  Yes, Christianity is serious business.  There’s nothing funny about Christ’s death and suffering.  God is a holy God and to be revered.  But does that mean that we can’t ever let loose and laugh?  I don’t think so.    

I think that God truly appreciates it when His people have a sense of humor and enjoy life.  I think He appreciates it when we throw our heads back and laugh loudly over something crazy or ridiculous.  Humor can be used in so many ways – to ease the tension between people, to break down barriers, to make another person laugh.  Making other people laugh is one of my favorite things to do.      

 

  

  

Just goofing around...

 

 A few days ago I was complaining to a friend of mine who just had two babies in two years about my ticking biological clock.  (Not that I’m out prowling for a baby daddy or anything like that…  I’d rather be childless and at peace than dealing with a chaotic home life.)  My friend’s idea of how to cheer me up included some very graphic descriptions about the toll babies take on a woman’s body.  I won’t regale you with those details here…  Trust me, you don’t want to know.  She had me doubled over with laughter, tears running down my face, and I believe I even snorted!  And after that information, I decided that I’m doing just fine the way I am.  Maybe I’ll even adopt!  Yikes!  That description should keep me content for a while with the status quo.

7 Comments

Filed under Just Goofing Around, My Crazy Family

7 responses to “Humor

  1. I think you’d make a _great_ Mom. One of blogs I read regularly is written by a single Christian women who was a foster parent and who has since adopted two of the young children she fostered. I’d be happy to pass the link onto you if you’re interested.

    🙂

    • kimberlywenger

      Thanks Lydia! I really appreciate that. I think I’d be a pretty good Mom too. 🙂 Maybe one of these days. I’ve considered fostering, but I’m not ready for that quite yet. I’d need to have my own place and that’ll be awhile in the making. I think I’d enjoy it though!

  2. Friend of a friend

    It also takes fewer muscles to smile than to frown. God must have had this in mind when he designed us! 🙂

  3. Amy LaRosa

    I say, when the time comes, go for the adoption! I can safely say this since I have both a biological and adopted child. And ever since adopting Connor, I have always said that the real beauty of adoption is that you get a sweet, cuddly baby and no strech marks, leaking boobies, extra fat, morning sickness, etc….So worth it all!!!! Let someone else have to deal with that!!!

    Just joking- but seriously, that is one of the many beauties of adoption!!!:)

  4. You will be a good mom, whether you have a child biologically or through adoption. either way, youll be a good mom. keep smiling!

Leave a Reply

