What I’m Reading


Currently, I’m re-reading (or rather, listening to the audio book) “Live, Pray, Love” by Elizabeth Gilbert. It’s a totally non-Christian book about spiritual things. I completely disagree with the conclusions she comes to about God, but at the same time I love the way she writes. I love her observations about life. Something about the book makes me feel happy and peaceful. I can’t explain it.

I’m also reading “Herself” by Madeleine L’Engle. It’s a wonderful collection of snippets from her work over the years as it relates to the writing process. It’s the perfect book to inspire writers.

I just finished the fourth book in Lynn Austin’s Chronicles of the Kings” series. It was a pretty depressing book – everybody dies! But I thoroughly enjoyed the first three books and I think the fifth one in the series will be excellent as well.

I also just finished a fluffy little romance novel not even worthy to name here. Every once in a while it’s nice to read something that I don’t have to think too hard about. Plus, my sister demanded that I get something fluffy with the Barnes and Noble gift card she sent me…

I am ABOUT to read a book called “Girl Meets God” by Lauren Winner. It’s about a Jewish girl’s journey toward Christ. This one I’m reading for work, but also personally interested in.

Thoughts? Comments?

2 Comments

Filed under Literature

2 responses to “What I’m Reading

  1. Lauren Winner is AMAZING. I *loved* Girl Meets God, but Mudhouse Sabbath is also a must-read.

    I’m reading “The Shack” right now (like half of the country, it seems!) and I’m digging it, even though it’s causing me endless anxiety that something bad could happen to my kids. I can barely even write that. Yuck.

    I can’t remember if I read “Live, Pray, Love” or not. Hmm…I’m thinking not. Sounds like I might need to, though! I enjoy books like that, even if I don’t agree with the author’s conclusions. 🙂

  2. Carole Bierwiler

    I read Eat, Love, Pray quite awhile ago too. I remember thinking that she was an “interesting” person, but not one I could really relate to. Nevertheless I did enjoy the book! I am reading something now that I also never choose-a romance novel that Guideposts sent out free. It is about a woman who is a midwife and who decides to set up her practice in an Amish community. Interestingly, you find out that her mother was Amish and left the community before she was born. I am enjoying it in spite of myself!

Leave a Reply

