My Brain is Tired?


I’ve been under the weather for the last few days. How much TV can one person watch before they lose their minds?  It’s not much for me.  In my old age, I’m finding I have less and less tolerance for stupid story lines.  So I spent most of yesterday in bed, reading a book titled Silos, Politics, and Turf Wars.  It’s a business book, written as a fable, and a quick and interesting read.  Believe me when I say this…  I am not a big fan of most business books, but this one is good.  Even though it’s a good book, I was definitely surprised when I finished it in about three hours. 

 

In the preceding days, I’d also finished a book titled The Weight of Water and another one titled Redeeming Love.  Both of those books are novels that I’d been working on for awhile and was able to finish when I had the time to just sit and read.  I also finished reading the book that was recently published with an article that I wrote – God, Please Help Me through this Wilderness.  I hadn’t had a chance to read all the other articles in it yet and when I had the time, I read through them.  By the way, the other articles are really good and I had a great devotional time because of them.

 

I don’t think I’ve told anyone what I read and it never occurred to me to do so.  Then my sister called this morning.  When I told her I just wasn’t feeling right, but am not sure what’s wrong, she said,

“Well, maybe your brain is just tired from all that reading.” 

            “What?”  I replied, wondering if she’s installed hidden cameras in my house.  “I haven’t talked to you in days.  How do you know I’ve been reading a lot?” 

            Katie kind of laughed and said, “You didn’t have to tell me you’d been reading.  Some things never change.” 

 

What followed was a sincere attempt on my part to justify my reading, followed by her making fun of me for not watching Lifetime movies all day but reading a business book.  She thought I should at least be reading romance novels…  My sister was also quite amused at my shock that she knew I’d been reading.  I tried to tell her that there are months on end when I rarely pick up a book, but I guess that’s probably not true.  I’m always reading something. 

 

The thing is, there’s just so much to learn and so little time.  What better way to learn than to read?  How does a person get better at their job, at relationships, or at life if they don’t read?  My friend Reneé says one of these days she’ll catch me walking around with a pocket protector.  I don’t know about that, but I do know that the best place to stash a book you can’t find the time to read is in the bathroom.  J 

 

Thus, there will be a new section of my blog called What I’m Reading.  Not that any of you will care that much, but just in case you’re interested…

  

 

What I’m Reading:
Making Small Groups Work – Cloud and Townsend

The Weight of Water – Anita Shreve
Redeeming Love – Francine Rivers
God, Please Help Me Through This Wilderness – assorted authors (including me :-))DemmeHouse Publishing

 

 

What I Recently Read:

Silos, Politics, and Turf Wars – Patrick Lencioni

13 Comments

Filed under Just Goofing Around, Literature

13 responses to “My Brain is Tired?

  1. Monica

    Hey Kim!

    Justed wanted to let you know I thoroughly enjoyed reading your blog today. I look forward to more thought provoking messages from you in the future! Take care, Monica

  2. Mommakisses

    All I can say is THAT is why YOU are going to break that glass ceiling…

    • kimberlywenger

      Well, only if I can remember what I’m reading! 🙂 And since the book fairy gave me such great business books, I feel the need to read them. Death By Meeting is next…

  3. Dawn Darden

    Kimberly,
    I am excited to find out you are an avid reader. I LOVE to read, and am always looking for good books. So I will be watching for your recommendations.

  4. Keep reading! Don’t let you sister make fun of you. Send her a book!

  5. i’v been meetinged out for a number of years now … i think i suffer from PTDS of the charismaniac type … i’ll recover one day perhaps

  6. Renee

    very good! no wonder you always have the best parties at your house. I still think you should read a dumb book once in a while. I still have Stori Telling if you want to borrow it. 🙂

  7. Leslie

    argh! I have so many things I want to read on top of the things I need to read on top of the things I’m reading with the kids. I want to be smarter and I’ve learned so much just teaching these kids but golly, it’s hard to keep up with so many good books. I wish my kids loved to read. I’m just rambling but I’m enjoying your blog and I better get back to school.

  8. Oh my word!!! I don’t care how sick I am, I’m not reading a business book. I’ll stick with my self help books, Bible, or something, anything other than business books. I think I own 4 business books, Financial Peace, Financial Peace Revised, The Millionare Next Door, and currently Financial Relief (which is Dave Ramsey endorsed)… keep my hot tea and/or coffee coming while I read You Can Have it All, A Party Begins in the Heart, or anything else! I can loan you some good reads though I if I had to guess, you’ve already read them! 🙂 Of course, I have been known to read a juicy romance novel or two in my life – oops did I really just say that? I’ll work on her Katie! Ha!

    Keep on reading my friend, wisdom comes via reading and life experience!

Leave a Reply

